My OH has just been diagnosed

Hello all,

I'm a 38 year old woman who would like to connect with other people who have ASD partners. My OH was diagnosed last week. Our relationship has been very strained for at least 18 months (we've been together 7 years) and I'm taking anti depressants. I find it difficult to cope with the stress of being the sole breadwinner/carer. I'm on the brink of moving out and could really do with some support or helpful advice. I'd like to try living separately but still be in a relationship. Has anyone here had similar experiences they could share with me?

Thanks x

• I think as the Autistic half of our equation, that I will be much happier when I have my own 'autistic space' I could be wrong though, but that is what I see in my head.

• Even though I've suspected my OH to be on the spectrum for a while, I'm still pretty new to this too. Look up the Spartan Life Coach on YouTube- he has so many great videos and although a lot of his videos are about being in a relationship with a narcissist, he very clearly explains the symptoms of Compex PTSD and how you can take back ownership of your thoughts and feelings. I'm honestly so happy to find out that I can fix how I feel. My goal is to become self soothing, i.e. able to comfort myself through positive thought process rather than having to rely on someone else...or a big cake! I wish you luck :-) 

• I'm not sure. The best way I can describe it is that I'm extremely sensitive to subtle changes in loved one's behaviour and am unable to bear anyone's unhappiness or displeasure. I'm always 'taking the temperature of the room' and am most certainly a people pleaser. 

• Would you describe yourself as an em-path by nature?