News/current affairs

Since the Palestine/Israel conflict began, I've stopped reading the news (I don't watch TV or listen to the radio, anyway).

This is to protect my mental health as my responses to the various conflicts in the world tend to either be anger or distress.

I've never done this before but for several decades of my life news wasn't so readily available.

The internet changed all that.

I don't know how long I will be able to isolate myself in this way, but I had become rather addicted to the BBC news website, constantly updating it to see the latest.

Does this resonate with anyone?

• I am following every day at the moment.  But sometimes i will take breaks to protect my mental health

• thats the same in all wars really... theres never a winner in war, both sides its just death and loss... then the loss even of the winner creates a lack of male population which destroys that nation in the future.... that is how the british empire fell, it won its wars, but it lost its manpower. it was unable to do anything without manpower so it all fell apart and everyone could rise up and challenge it... then ofcourse america who was sitting in the sidelines and had plenty of manpower due to doing nothing stepped up to fill the void and stablise that power vaccum.

russias entire problems and poverty and lack of quality of life is because they lost so many people in ww2, but yet they are the official winners of ww2... but in the long run, they lost because they threw over 20 million mens lives away in battle... thats counted... uncounted it could be hundreds of millions lost on their side...

china is becoming a world ruling power now and will likely rule the world.... you see, they never had much wars so manage to keep a good population rolling, high manpower high population, rule the world.