News/current affairs

Since the Palestine/Israel conflict began, I've stopped reading the news (I don't watch TV or listen to the radio, anyway).

This is to protect my mental health as my responses to the various conflicts in the world tend to either be anger or distress.

I've never done this before but for several decades of my life news wasn't so readily available.

The internet changed all that.

I don't know how long I will be able to isolate myself in this way, but I had become rather addicted to the BBC news website, constantly updating it to see the latest.

Does this resonate with anyone?

• Wars and the greed after resources will always be part of the human experience. The news our history in the making, is the story of US. We can watch or not. I have a firm grasp of the history of both Ukraine, and the middle east and have watched developments and patterns through the decades. The current bloody engagements are familiar to previous flareups with one exception: now it is happening along side of many more natural disasters and a much larger percentage of people, therefore, being displaced and without the stability the world itself had provided, this adds a certain existential dread to the mix. I do feel the sadness of that dread in others. I wish I could do something for them.

• Hello Nemesis2k7, I am Number.

May I just ask, do you still use social media (insta, FB or X type things) and/or email..... and if so, are you still not bombarded with "news" from those sources ?

I only ask this question because I am interested - not nosey, and certainly not judgemental about it, one way nor the other.

• I stopped with media / tv / fake news, years ago. Its all designed to provoke reactions, troll people, and manipulate how we feel

• Thank you for reminding me of Edge of Darkness.....I remember it well.  It had quite a profound impact on me.

I re-watched the series on DVD and may do so again...