Undiagnosed/ misdiagnosed

Hi everyone, 

I am new to this site and looking forward to discussing different subjects. I have recently been placed on the waiting list for an autism diagnosis at 23yrs old.

Is there anyone else out there who has taken a while to understand why they are the way they are? Or have been misdiagnosed with mental health problems, with autism being completely missed?

Would love to hear people's views on this. 

-Sarah 

• I'm trying to get a diagnosis at 63 and my experience so far is that the entire system is geared towards preventing it. After a bit of a struggle to see my GP he eventually referred me for a diagnosis, only to get a letter a few days later from a nearby health centre saying that I wouldn't be getting one. It had the look of a standard letter and wasn't signed by anyone. I scored pretty high in every diagnostic test, which they were provided with. I'm certain I'm autistic.

• Hi Sarah,

I am new to this too!

I have struggled for a long time to understand why I am the way I am. At school the teachers would tell me I was schizophrenic due to my behaviour. I have researched psychiatrists, had life coaches and read extensively on self help books to try understand my thoughts and behaviours. My wife was actively pushing me to go to the doctors as she is convinced I have been suffering with depression and anxiety for years.