Books books books

Hey there 

I just finished a audiobook called Unmasking Autism by Devon Price. I really enjoyed it and this was my first experience of an audible. I struggle to read books as I find I read and then track back and read again, I struggle to concentrate and take it all in basically.

Is there a must read book that anyone can recommend for self discovering as a newly recognised autistic? 

• Thank you for that feedback.  From what you mentioned about Neurotribes - I think I will first try borrowing the paperback via the local library.

• Hi. I have a subscription to Audible - 1 audiobook a month. Still working through the 19hours left of Neurotribes. When I saw the paperback I understood why. 

• I am new to audiobooks (but already like using Podcasts ...so I suspect I would likely enjoy audiobooks too). 

Do most people use Audible via Amazon - or are there other platforms you also like to use for accessing audio books?

(Our County Library Service seems to have some eBooks available - but perhaps not the sort of material I had in mind).

Many thanks to all. 

• I've read On a Different Key by John Donvan and Caren Zucker. I like it! It goes into quite a lot of detail regarding autism's story and where it found itself in different historical contexts. Very interesting read.

• Just skim read: In a Different Key. by John Donvan and Caren Zucker

I was mainly interested in the story in modern history. It is not an easy read, but interesting none the less. And certainly challenges the delicate hold I have on viewing my autism as a difference and not a defect. But sometimes I feel I need to face this.

Anyone else read this? I'd be interested in thoughts.

• In the middle of reading "We're not Broken", I followed his trajectory through to a BFA. I am enjoying how much more accomdation there is now. I had to invent my own accommodations to get through in the '70s.

I'm not finished yet the book so will have more to say in a bit.