What advice would you give to your younger self?

This may be more appropriate for the older members, but younger ones may find it useful and may have some advice to give.

My really big one is I wish I was less of a 'people pleaser', less compliant.

I think I have been quite easily manipulated during my life and if I hadn't been, my life would have taken a different course.

I have finally learnt to say 'no' and am trying hard to 'please myself'.

What about you?

• Advice for my younger self- you will soon find your autistic tribe, even if you don’t know you are autistic yet!

Just because you don’t have friends yet, doesn’t mean making friends is difficult, you just have not found your people (neurokin)!

Great idea for a discussion!

• Thank you everyone for all the responses.

'Hindsight is a wonderful thing'.

• Ask for an ASD assessmet. Find someone to talk to about how you feel and love yourself 

• Can't agree more.  I'm still learning to say 'no' and stick to it.  People pleasing and being manipulated has got me into some very difficult situations

• i’d probably warn  myself that my friends are less loyal than I thought they were. That I can’t trust that things will work out in time just because they ought to. That I can’t trust the adults in my life to do the right thing by me not cause theyre  mean people but because they have different priorities and my best interest, to the extent that they even understood them properly, were not at the top of the list of priorities.

I would remind myself that going on idealistic crusades is very good and noble, but that being young now is the opportunity to try new experiences and to take risks particularly since life will cut me more slack if taking risks ends up with me doing something considered delinquent and in appropriate.