Being autistic and Christian

I just wanted to start a thread to see what the experiences of any other autistic Christians are? As an autistic person who didn't know I was autistic until later life I have had an up and down relationship with my faith over the years. I have had some very bad experiences in church too, I know a lot of autistic people struggle with church for many reasons too.

Im not trying to convert or preach to anyone and I appreciate a lot of people on here aren't religious or anything but it would be really interesting and comforting to hear any experiences of fellow autistic Christians 

• I may be wrong but reading your post I wondered if you have considered a retreat in a monastery. They have guest rooms and are often in quiet places. 
  • My experiences are good, mostly. I don't force it in everyone's face but I am Christian and do believe. I've been in a lot of sticky situations and dark places and feel that God stood by my side and is the reason I am still here now.

• Firstly, thank you for being so open. I was diagnosed at around 44 and I am now 50, so I can sympathise with you. I know of Teen Challenge in North East of Scotland and very much admire the work they do with addicts. I personally though don't feel the need for such things for autistics as we don't need curing or healing, no matter how well intentioned it is. God created us this way and people need to understand that, churches in general would not try to cure someone with down syndromme so why should they try it with us. What I have found though is that non-liturgical churches tend to be more welcoming, particularly those of under 50 members as they tend to be more like a family and so more welcoming. The church I go to is very much a family of dysfunctional people, in fact I am not sure that there is such a thing as a normal person in our church and so everyone is accepting of everyone else.