Best careers for autistic people?

Hi!

I am looking to change career. I'm currently working as a teacher and have realised this career choice is overwhelming for me socially. I'm looking at careers I can succeed in with my autistic tendencies, any advice?

Thanks!

Douglas

• I'm an artist and freelance designer. Tough sometimes socially, but compared to Manu professions I have it good. I worked in TV for years, too stimulating from a sensory perspective, so I moved to moremdigital work. Helped a lot working remotely.

It's very competitive though so it's important to build up a good network of old colleagues to stay connected to. I struggle still with that.

AI is about to change the game though. And fast by the look of it. Scary time to be a creator, but I've adapted before so will have to figure it out

• I can relate to this so much!! A job with fixed hours where I have to be in an office is just not for me. I do sometimes work much longer than a normal working day but sometimes also much less, depending on what needs to be done and my energy levels. Luckily as a scientist I have flexibility though especially when I am new I feel bad if I am not there at conventional hours or do desk work from home or need to take a longer break during day ... I’m hoping that now that I am doing my PhD I will figure it out and allow myself to work in a way that is best and most efficient for me. I had a really hard time in my previous job where I was working as a research assistant- i felt compelled to be there during normal working hours but then on top of that was also there weekends evenings etc and I didn’t feel like I could claim time back to rest in week if I had had a crazy weekend.