To undiagnosed adults or those diagnosed in adulthood: How did you realize you might be autistic?

Why did you begin to research/consider autism in the first place? What made you want to get tested?

• I read a detailed interview with Vice Admiral Nick Hine in a weekend magazine and thought "my God, I have nothing in common with this guy's life ... but the personality he describes is mine!"  I've always considered myself to be 'different', and when I reached a senior position in working life I delegated one-to-one client relationships to others.  I always disliked the interpersonal aspect of what I did for a living.   Reading Nick Hines' story gelled with me so I looked into it, did some online tests, read a few books, and everything I learned confirmed my suspicions.  I had a diagnosis a few weeks later.

• My son was diagnosed with ADHD and while going through this I learnt more about Autism and ADHD and many of the points struck a cord with me and made me look more into it.  It answered so many questions about my past and current life.  I’m currently starting my referral process after posting on here to ask whether it was worth doing.  Am pleased I’ve decided to go ahead.  

• I am 52 and only realized about 2.5 years ago. I had some bad periods in my life but I struggled through them. That was the 1980's and 90's and I was never really given any alternative by my parents but to have a normal life. Having a job, house and being solvent were just part of what I thought I was supposed to do no matter what. It was in 2019 that I started to get much more anxious and depressed about everything and I went online and started to look at my symptons. If the internet existed in the 80's I would have probably been diagnosed then but I was very average at school and not disruptive so was never considered diffrent.