Welcoming new child and family to our school

Hi everyone,

I have been a teacher for several years and teach at a mainstream primary school. 

My new class in September will include a child with autism.

Thankfully a statement is already in place for 20hrs support and we have a lovely and experienced TA in place.

I was hoping for some advice on how best to start off my relationship with this child and their family. More focusing on the family really as I know each child with asd is unique and their specific needs, abilities and interests vary.

I know that sending your child to school for the first time is a scary experience in itself. What would you have liked your child's teacher to do, ask or offer?

Is there anything I should avoid? (I'm thinking of the type of 'well-meaning' things which actually cause upset.)  

I also have the opportunity to reorganise my classroom completely in September as we are having building work during August. If anyone has any suggestions for spaces I should create in the classroom or things I should avoid that would be great.

My main concern is that this child should have a safe and happy space to explore and grow for their first year in school and that their parents should feel welcomed and supported by our school.

• Can I take this moment to thank you SOOOOO much for taking the time to research and prepare for this child and their family. I am a Reception teacher and a mother of an ASD child and having just been through a horrific year with a teacher who would not take on board any advise, it warms me so much to see and hear how much effort you are going to and how open minded you are being. Enjoy your new class and good luck on you year long journey with them all. I am sure this child will flourish under the care of someone as dedicated as you. My only question now is 'can we clone teachers like you'!?

• stranger said:

It may help if you can form a good relationship with the parents too.