Asperges and Dating

What are your experiences with dating and do you find it difficult to maintain a relationship? I find communication hard sometimes and can come across cold.

Parents
  • So here is my dating history.  This is genuine.  I am about to start the process of referral for diagnosis. 

So I am different and got picked on:

Valetines day when 13-14: Girls send Valentine to me at school saying

“Roses are red, violets are blue, no girls will ever like you.”

Then ask girl out: Fail, though before being shot down the process helped me write a good story for GCSE.

Girl I liked but didn’t got shot down.  

Then i I started studying human behaviour. So then asked girls out whose pupils would dilate when they saw me.  This included sending roses etc.

Then tried online dating, but found out they were scammers.  Luckily didn’t part with cash etc. 

Tried text dating with services, fail.

So in the end I have given up.  Women like me, but find me too weird.  

So I am adjusting to a life bymyself. 

Though I would like to be a relationship, I am honest with myself it’s not going to happen. 

• From Tony Attwoods - Complete Guide to Aspergers:

"

The male partner with Asperger’s syndrome:

Many women describe their first impression of their partner, who at this stage may not have had a diagnosis, as someone who is kind, attentive and slightly immature: the highly desirable ‘handsome and silent stranger’.

There can be a strong maternal compassion for the person’s limited social abilities.

The attractiveness of a man with Asperger’s syndrome as a partner can be enhanced by his intellectual abilities, career prospects and degree of attention to his partner during courtship.

The partner with Asperger’s syndrome is usually a late developer in terms of emotional and relationship maturity.

Many women have described how their partner with Asperger’s syndrome resembled their father.