Mental Health First Aid

I have been told by my HR manager at work that I have to train as a mental health first aider because I am a manager of staff.

Has anyone had to do the course? I looked at what is included and think as a neurodivergent person I am going to be the best person to do this course. 

• While I agree, that empathy is a useful skill for this role and you may struggle with it. I wouldn't let that put you off the course, because the course, if run well, will give you concrete signs to look for, rather than relying on the rather inefficient 'feeling off' that empathy requires.

So I'd do the course, but explain your concern, perhaps a suggestion is that someone else on the team is also trained so it's not just on you? Which should be the case ideally anyway.

• You could do the course. Mental Health First Aid is not like general first aid where you may have to deal with heart attacks and life-threatening injuries. It is about offering immediate support and knowing where to get help - as an MHFAider you are not a trained counsellor or amateur therapist. If you do the course and are still not happy, you need to decide what to do ... if your boss knows that you are autistic, explain that you would struggle to offer support to a colleague and that another staff member might be better equipped. It could be a development opportunity for a junior colleague with future supervisory potential.

It could be that your senior management is using MHFA as a sort of mental health awareness training for managers.  As a manager you will probably have some sort of role in performance management, grievances etc. and awareness of mental health issues will be relevant, even if you don't feel comfortable providing personal support - knowing how to refer on, and to whom is still a useful skill. Part of the role of an MH first aider is to encourage the colleague to seek out appropriate help, e.g. from your employee counselling service (if you have one) or their GP.