Help with Roundabouts

Hi Everyone,

I am currently learning to drive and the only thing i can't do is busy roundabouts (multi-lane), the issue is the number of cars that i need to process in little time. i know what i need to do, i just panic because there is so much to look at. My driving instructor and I were wondering if anybody has had a similar issue and has any tips to help?

Thanks,

Alisha xx

• If you are entering, in the left lane, the vehicle on the right will shield you from the potential crash, so you can pull out safely when they do, rather than waiting for them to clear your view...

• Focus only on the traffic coming from the right 

• Exactly.  Not alone with this one at all.  My "sixth sense" does improve over time but then I've been driving since 1987 and still find it scary at times.  Those times tend to be busier times close to town centres though so I've taken the decision to simply avoid them.  Although I know that avoidance isn't generally recommended, I'd struggled for so long that in the end I just accepted that, if I'm going to continue driving, this is one of the limitations I have.  My thoughts are that it's better to be aware of my limitations and work around them than to keep struggling.

I've noticed as well that people don't seem to slow down as much as they approach roundabouts any more and I'm not sure why that is.  Their apparent confidence seems to push me further into anxiety and I wonder whether that is something that reflects a more general dynamic between me and others and whether this is something to do with being in a neurominority.  I do seem to have an ingrained habit of deferring to others as if they're bound to be doing the right thing (with the feeling that I'll get blamed if I don't) and I often need to do a bit of cognitive therapy on myself to bring my automatic thoughts into the open and challenge them.  The apparently super-confident others aren't always in the right, after all.