Driving

Who drives? :) I passed my test when I was 21, by a miracle I think as I'm a shockingly bad driver lol but somehow I did pass. I find driving incredibly stressful and I haven't driven since I was 23 and not sure if I'll drive again tbh. My car just sits there year after year I should sell it really but it's one of those things where because it's mine I don't really want to get rid. And I might drive again one day who knows :) 

Parents
  • It just shows how different we all are. I know that it's common for people on the spectrum to struggle with driving.   For me it's the reverse ... being in the car on a long journey is precious time.  I'm one of those people for whom driving seems almost like a natural state of being. It's what is sometimes called a 'compensating' factor for me.   Believe me, I have plenty of the other sort, so I'll take what I can get!  

I passed my test at 17 and have been a high mileage driver - for business - all my life. One year, in the late 80s, I did 100,000 miles in one year, when I believe the average annual mileage for drivers was about 9K (you have to pretty much live in a car to do that!)

In my 20s, I had a client in Belgium, and would quite often drive over after work, stay overnight, have a meeting over breakfast, and be back in the office in London well before close of business. I can barely remember the client (who was OK, but had some seriously triggering colleagues), but I remember so many of those drives.