Driving

Who drives? :) I passed my test when I was 21, by a miracle I think as I'm a shockingly bad driver lol but somehow I did pass. I find driving incredibly stressful and I haven't driven since I was 23 and not sure if I'll drive again tbh. My car just sits there year after year I should sell it really but it's one of those things where because it's mine I don't really want to get rid. And I might drive again one day who knows :) 

Parents
  • I took my test three times, and finally passed in my late 20's. I get incredibly stressed during examination conditions. I had a nasty crash which wrote off my learner car 2 days before my final test and was injured. I think they could see I was a good driver and felt a bit sorry for me turning up 2 days after to continue with the test, still injured. I got a jo a week later which I commuted to by car, at night! Scary stuff but I was very proud of myself at the time. I'm struggling with PTSD at the moment so I've not been able to drive for a while - my old car died a death on parts that were no longer being manufactured, so replaced it with another second hand one but it's too big and boxy for me and I can barely reach the pedals. I don't feel safe driving it unless it's an emergency and I have to. In a few months time we should be looking into getting me driving again, as we're relocating and I need to get around on my own.

• I'm sorry about your ptsd it can't be easy for you. I don't suffer from that just anxiety which makes it feel impossible to drive at the moment. I suggest you go at your own comfortable pace and drive again when you feel ready to. Don't rush or force yourself into it :) my car sounds like yours. It's a wee bit older gift from my mum but it may need changing by now. I'm reluctant to change though because it was a gift but also because I hate getting rid of things. I like to keep everything.