Self accommodations as an autistic teen/adult

Hi I'm Jess

So I've been formally diagnosed for a year and 2 months, like most it was a long process and have known for a much longer time but there was a fight 

I'm currently in my first year at uni and the uni put in amazing accommodations but I still feel really overwhelmed at the end of the day 

Some things I have to help (not uni related) are visual schedules and a sensory corner in my room as well as trying to spend enough time alone 

Does anyone have any suggestions for other self implemented accommodations I could use either ones that have been beneficial for you or your child.

I've tried googling some and they either seem to be about primary school or how to organise life (taxes) which I'm not at that stage yet

Thanks and any help would be much appreciated 

Parents
  • I'm also in my first year of uni, what are you studying?

I really struggle to stop studying if I have a lot to do which leads to burnout so I have set myself a rule that as of 6pm, I stop studying for the day. That's helped me a lot.

Do you go to any societies? I joined the dog walking society at my uni and it has helped so much. Getting outside in the fresh air and not having to talk to anyone if I don't want to but having company is great.

Totally agree with Ann about having a to do list, and setting aside time for special interest or just time to chill and do something you enjoy.

Is there anything in particular that you are finding tricky or just feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all?

Alisha xx

• I'm also in my first year of uni, what are you studying?

I really struggle to stop studying if I have a lot to do which leads to burnout so I have set myself a rule that as of 6pm, I stop studying for the day. That's helped me a lot.