Self accommodations as an autistic teen/adult

Hi I'm Jess

So I've been formally diagnosed for a year and 2 months, like most it was a long process and have known for a much longer time but there was a fight 

I'm currently in my first year at uni and the uni put in amazing accommodations but I still feel really overwhelmed at the end of the day 

Some things I have to help (not uni related) are visual schedules and a sensory corner in my room as well as trying to spend enough time alone 

Does anyone have any suggestions for other self implemented accommodations I could use either ones that have been beneficial for you or your child.

I've tried googling some and they either seem to be about primary school or how to organise life (taxes) which I'm not at that stage yet

Thanks and any help would be much appreciated 

• I have lots of different colored combs.

• I have been experimenting with keeping available different stim / fidget / sensory toys.  One which is small (fits into a pocket in your clothing), quiet, inexpensive (usually less than £4) and widely available: is a set of (elastic-joined) wooden twist and lock blocks:

• Is it worth looking into virtual pub quiz nights? This could limit the overstimulation as there would not be as much noise, smells, and extra stimulation, it also may not have to be as late in the evening. Or having one with your flatmates? You could buy a puz quiz book and do it all from home if that appeals? 

I too love a quiz and we do them at home with my family which I really enjoy and we use ones bought off of Amazon or second hand ones. The Ultimate Pub Quiz from Collins is very good as well as the Have I Got News For You ones! (Involves my special interest of current affairs :D )

• Thanks,

I had some loops and every time I used then ended up getting an ear infection but I do find some situations where they would be useful so I might try the foam ones to see if they work