Recently diagnosed at 40

Hi, I'm Mike I was diagnosed a few months ago and still have quite got to a point where I understand what it means foe me. I had been pondering and researching ASD for some years after seeing parallels between my son and I (he was diagnosed when he was 5), I made the mistake of sharing my thoughts at work and ended up with being told I needed to seek a diagnosis so they could determine if someone with Aspergers could do my job, I had been doing for nearly 5 years at that point. 8 months later I was diagnosed and work calmed down and now things feel the same but different. That's me its nice to be part of the community. 

thanks

• Hi shesintheoublient, thanks for replying, thanks for replying.

• Just wanted to say hi and that I'm newly diagnosed so I can understand how you might feeling both about the diagnosis and in life in general.

One of the things my diagnosis is making me realise is quite how differently NTs view the world - I always knew there seemed to be a difference, but after talking to very close friends/family about how they think about  things, I've realised that my way is quite radically different.. e.g. the 'prospective' memory that NTs take for granted - which allows them to remember to do things, be it ask how someone is or share something with them, or to remember to send off a form or where I put my keys, or to invite someone to sit down, or to remember the big picture when completing a task etc etc etc... I read that this kind of problem with executive function could play a big part.

Anyway, I'm rambing a bit as I try to orient myself in this new world, but I look forward to future discussions.

• Spot on.  It's very easy to get caught up in our own woes - you do well to remember that the "empathy gap" works both ways.  It's not just us getting confused by neurotypical behaviour - our hehaviour is just as mysterious when viewed from the other side of the mirror.