Hello

Hi, my name is Chris.

I'm here because my 4 year old son was diagnosed with autism last week, and as they were going through the reasons why I kept thinking "But... I do that."

I realized two things, over the course of the session, that I had a totally wrong idea about what autism is (an idea largely grounded in 1990's stereotypes), and that I displayed a lot of autistic behavior and thought patterns myself.

I do not have an autism diagnosis. Heck, I just started learning about autism about a week ago. I don't know if it is ok to self-diagnose. I have no intention of seeking government assistance or anything, so I'm not sure an official diagnosis would even matter much. The only reason I might pursue one would be that it might be helpful for my son; he might feel less isolated when he learns about his diagnosis if his father can say "Yeah, me too..." and he might benefit from hearing about the strategies I have developed over the last 35 years to deal with the world.

On the other hand, I don't want to do the equivalent of treating a headache with a bandaid - applying a treatment for the wrong kind of problem. I always just thought of myself as "quirky" and if it isn't autism, my strategies for dealing with the world might not work for him... so I guess I am looking for a bit of a gut check? Also, trying to get a sense for how the community feels about self-diagnosis.