Can't cope with major decision

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and a bit nervous about posting. I've only recently realised that I'm autistic but, now that I've come to that realisation, I can't believe I never figured it out before, as it's so overwhelmingly obvious.

Anyway, I'm having trouble with a major decision and I'm hoping I might get some help here from people who understand how overwhelming life can be. I've tried talking to people in real life but I know that nobody really understands or takes it seriously when I say I can't cope, probably because I'm excellent at forcing myself to go through the motions so it looks like I'm coping. Basically, I'm at a point where I think I need to quit my job and I don't know what to do. 

I'm a primary school teacher in Ireland and I've always been passionate about my work. It really suits me because I really identify strongly with children and I can relate to them in a way I can't relate to adults. I'm lucky in that my Principal acknowledges my strengths and has allowed me to have a huge amount of autonomy over the way I work as a classroom teacher. I suppose my job has always been my special interest and I'm not afraid to say (here that is, not in real life as I'm extremely conscious of not boasting) that I have a high level of expertise when it comes to education and I'm confident that I do an outstanding job. 

The flip side of that is that I'm hyper aware of the failings of the education system and it drives me insane. I'm constantly fighting for improvement and optimisation. I'm certain my colleagues hate me for it as they seem to prefer to get by doing the minimum amount of work, which also drives me insane. Aside from that, I find it extremely difficult to relate to them on any level and the staff room chit chat causes me serious stress. My recent revelation about my autism has made me realise how deeply and negatively this has been affecting my mental health.