Performance Review at work. The very thought of it is stressing me out. Any Tips

Hi, this is my first time posting so I apologise If I get the tone wrong on this one

I am being asked to write my objectives at work then go and have my half year review to talk about them. No Big Deal!

So why on earth am I so stressed about it. It feels like I have to write my own exam questions, answer them, then get judged on both the question I wrote and my answer to it.

I'm just expected to know how to do this because I've been given a powerpoint slide on SMART objectives

For context I dropped out of Uni and everything since, It the question needs answering in words and sentences, you can generally count me out.

Does this stuff trigger anybody else or is it just me?

Parents
  • Hi there, 

Yeah this massively freaks me out too! We have a 6 monthly review cycle at work and once a year that involves writing a personal review (eg. a review of yourself) and then a review of your manager. It is encouraged that you set out aims for the coming 6 months too. I find it SO HARD. 

I never can remember what I do in a half-year period anyway, let alone write about it and goals? My goal is to keep coming to work to get paid so I can live. That is my only goal, I don't know what you want me to say! 

Try and think of it like this: What is the purpose of your job. Are you fulfilling that purpose? What other factors affect your ability to do your job? What are the points/feedback your manager has raised with you in the past and have you worked on those points since? You want to document: what you're doing, how you're doing it and why it is good. 

You are NOT ALONE on this one. It's really tough! 

• You are NOT ALONE on this one. It's really tough! 

I've seen this from both sides of the management / employee fence and it is actually really easy.