From doubt, to being convinced and back again! Non-diagnosed adult.

I'm male, 40 years old and to the outside world (or most of it) I seem like your pretty standard adult. 

I hold down a full-time, rather demanding and complex job. 
I support a family, pay my bills and get on with my life. 

The reality is much different. 

I've never written this all down before, so here goes.

(sorry, this might be a long post, but I need to get it off my chest). 

I like lists because they are clear and concise, so here's a list of things that I've noticed about myself over the years...some I struggle with and some are actually helpful in certain situations: 

- I have a extreme sensitivity to the feel of certain fabrics (particularly polyester) I just cant stand it. It almost feels physically painful when I think about the feel of it. 

- I can be very blunt, or so I'm told. Sometimes to the point of sounding rude or so direct it throws people off. 

- Multiple sounds at the same time distract me, sometimes evoking a feeling of rage. Particularly high pitched or sudden noises. 

- I get really upset (internally its like a sadness mixed with a spoilt child) if I can't do something I planned on doing or really enjoy. 

- I have obsessive interests. Some of them long-standing, others come and go...but I get SO engrossed in them that it takes over days of my life at time. 

- I've always had this underlying feeling of being an alien on the wrong planet. 

- I miss certain social cues (like someone getting bored when I'm talking) but I see other cues almost instantly. 

- I find a lot of peoples interests, particularly those that seem like they have little substance (like watching reality TV) utterly perplexing. They confuse the heck out of me. 

- If I get something in my head, I find it almost impossible to shake off...until I've done it. 

- I like to plan things out in my head. 

- I HATE being late for things, always try to turn up early or it makes me unbearably anxious.