Told off at work

I am a teacher and there have been lots of changes at my school lately and I have a few meltdowns in the last few weeks. 

This morning I was upset and asked to speak to the acting head abd she was horrible. Told me I need to pull myself together and snap out of it. When I walk through the door I need to be in work mode. I need to pull myself together. She said either I am fit to work or not and I should go to my GP if I keep having these "episodes".

I felt completely belittled and like a child who had been told off. 

• Don’t worry about being told and I’m here to take to you 

• I have been a governor in a few schools and some heads do relish the power and think that the staff and children can be spoken to however they want.  As others have said you have rights although I do know it can be hard to stick up for yourself and I would do pretty much anything to avoid conflict.

Just one point about stability of employment, it is quite hard to get rid of a teacher, you have to go through lots of rounds of performance reviews etc.

• I feel your pain. I was a secondary school teacher for 15 years ago and I left 2 years ago.  I am actually really good at the teaching and I love it, I just couldn't cope with the rest and covid pressure were soooo hard.  I have found schools are not supportive of staff with any sort of mental health issues and in one school I was told the same as you.

I have worked in 4 schools and all were the same.  I wish that I could say something to reassure you but I can't.  I couldn't do it anymore. I don't enjoy working in an office but now that I have office experience I have found a more challenging, senior role that will be a lot better. I don't like the job anywhere near as much, but I am going to be able to do it until I am 67 and retire, unlike teaching.  And I am not completely exhausted by 4pm and am actually  having a bit of a personal life!