Being alone at home

Hi i hope i've posted in the right place,its my first time posting.I'm a parent (not on the spectrum) my son is on the spectrum.Hes 16 now and although i'm fairly comfortable leaving him home alone if hes awake.I'm not at all comfortable leaving him home alone when hes fast asleep,usually due to him being awake half the night watching reruns of his favourite tv shows or being online.How do others cope with this ? Any help would be really appreciated Thank You 

Parents
  • Hi NAS23828,

I think I understand your concern correctly. The independence question is always a really difficult and highly individual one with High Functioning Teens because, in my experience, it’s often not so much a concern about what they will do, but can be more a worry about what they can’t or won’t do.

By this I mean that there may be no significant concern that they will get into any real mischief or bad behaviours while they are alone (as they may simply stick to their usual routine and quietly go about their day accordingly) but critically; can they or will they respond appropriately to unforeseen situations?

I do believe that High Functioning young people are more vulnerable than NTs of the same age, simply because of the social and communication difficulties they may have which can affect most areas of their everyday lives. Critically, social and communication difficulties can impact negatively on how effectively individuals perceive and respond to everyday situations, and how able they are to communicate their distress or need for help.

For example, can your son recognise dangers and seek help if he needs it? Will he open the door to strangers, can he (recognise, respond and therefore) use the telephone in an emergency etc. In my experience, these are the kinds of questions which can inform us best as to whether a child or young person is okay to be left alone, day or night, awake or sleeping.