Social Stories

Does anybody use social stories to improve social communication skills in children with ASD? I am a PhD student trying to develop an application for building, implementing and assessing social stories. I would be grateful for any suggestion from people with experience in autistic therapies.

• I know what you mean I have no idea how he will cope in a workplace , all it would take in the workplace would be for him to recieve two different sets of instructions and he would become stressed and upset. If he is given a job to do he will complete it very well if left alone but would need to complete it before begining a new task. The social norm off leaving one job to work on a more important one that has just arisen would be lost on him. I dread to think what sort of social story would be told to explain that to him. Thats one of the reasons ive encouraged him to stay in education, I feel he is safer there.

I think perhaps a job that he could alone without distraction and hand in once complete would be great. He is working towards being a film editor or critic have to wait and see how that turns out.

Sorry Rorua ive gone of point again.

sam

x

• Potentially your son could be about to go into the world of work, though he may be continuing education beyond 16. He cannot take a social stories folder with him into the workplace.