Mum of 11 year old daughter needs help

This is my first post so please bear with me. 

My daughter is 11 and was diagnosed as being on the autistic spectrum just over a year ago. She started senior school in September but is really struggling with friendships and is consequently being bullied, mostly on the bus home. I’d like any advice on helping her make and maintain friendships. 

Also, with hormones raging she is so up and down I’m struggling to handle some of her outbursts. She has taken to throwing stuff round in her room although she seems to be being careful not to actually break anything. I mostly sit outside her door in tears until it’s over but wish I could help her express her emotions without getting in such a state. 

Any my help/advice from those who have been where I am would be appreciated. Thanks x

Parents
  • I have no experience in dealing with bullying issues I'm afraid, nor do I have any idea how my children have made and maintained their friendships -  it isn't an area I ever mastered myself! Hopefully others will be along shortly to offer advice on these things.

Hormonal young girls, now THAT is something I have a lot of experience of (3 daughters).

The fact that your daughter is careful to confine her outbursts to her own room and possessions, and the fact that she appears able to control these outbursts to some extent in that she hasn't broken any of her belongings, seems to indicate that she does have some control over them at the moment. This is good! Healthy, I would say.