what kind of work do people do?

I'm quite curious what kind of work do people here do? I've seen from some comments in other threads that there are social workers and teachers out there. The stereotypical autism job is computer programmer, which I think is really cool and requires lots of talent. There are also students on this forum (I'd be interested to know what you're studying). 

Also, what jobs do you think are well-suited for the autistic personality?

Parents
  • Broadly I am a Systems Engineer (computers, electrics, electronics, mechanical, hydraulics, Pneumatics) with a hobby/background in Personal Computers since the early 1980's.  

I can visualise across Automotive, military, naval, space, aviation and home automation and provide excellent analogies to get those less technical to understand.

• I want to follow up on the analogies... if I may?

I 'self-label' as having 'analogy Tourette's' - I'm a Business Analyst and use them all the time to facilitate understanding of non-technical stakeholders of technical (and sometimes non-technical!) issues, solutions concepts etc.

I have had people say on numerous occasions "I wish I could have put it like that..." usually after I've got frustrated by someone's Nth abortive attempt to explain something to the room and I've stepped in...

I'm also a highly visual thinker...

Is this an ASD thing?

• +1 for analogies and visual preference.

Engineering degree, physics-y PhD, career in analysis & helping people think and communicate complex ideas simply. I've toured engineering analysis, business analysis, process analysis, commercial analysis, modelling, and a lot of people-oriented stuff before I realised it was bad for my health. 

I also get "I wish I could have put it like that" all the time!

• Oh god... when EVERYONE in your family acts like you're their personal IT support...

"Have you tried turning in off and back on again...?"