ASD

Hi,

I am a 22 year old female student. 

I got diagnosed with ASD today, the man said two years ago it would have been labeled as Aspergers. 

Not to sure what i know overall about autism. I always have thought i had a crazy weird brain. I would like to fit in more. I am moving soon and panicking a lot. 

I am studying at university next year and i would like some advice on how student support works. what benefits disclosing has?

Anyway nice to meet you all!

turtle 

Parents
  • My main advise would be to go onto the main university website and look for support.  Other avenues would be the student union.

Just be careful who you tell.  

There will  be others with ASD. But most will keep it a secret for good reasons.  

• Hi thanks ,,, I am so unsure about whether to tell them or not I had to complete a background check to apply here and im worried about whether they would think i wasn't competent. 

• Turtle, ASD is a disability and is covered under the equalities act. 

With competency, it's damn hard to be declared incompetent under law - people can make stupid choices but that doesn't mean they are incompetent.

I would use the disability services to the max in educational settings. They've been amazing in what they've offered my SD20 with her ADHD, even if she's crap at accepting help.

I suggest you do a bit of learning about ASD in women and start by watching some TED talks about ASD as told by women who have it!