New here, not yet diagnosed

Hi,

I've signed up today after about 6 months of worrying. I think I might be autistic. It explains a lot; partly because it explains a lot, I'm scared that I'm not autistic and that I just suck at life.

I'm 22, I have a degree and I started another degree last year (retraining in the allied health professions). I've done well in class, but placement went horrifically and I'm not sure if I want to go back in September. 

I started questioning things when a friend that I got on really well with got referred for an assessment for ASD. I was curious because she 'seemed fine'...and I found the lists of traits from Rudy Simone, Martha Kate Downey, the help4aspergers site, and they seemed to chime with things. I know everyone says that you won't fit all the traits - I don't, but I fit a lot of them. I read books by Liane Holliday Willey and Tony Attwood's book and took loads of notes on what criteria I fit.

I didn't mind placement in terms of the technical stuff I was learning, but I couldn't cope with patients or staff. I just wanted to be left alone with a list of stuff to do but that's not the job. I was going home every night drained and so tired I was unable to speak.

And that's the weird thing. I live at home at the minute, but I've lived independently before...but I think I've regressed? I don't know. I'm scared to bring it up to my parents in case they dismiss it. Also I have hydrocephalus and everyone had really low expectations of me when I was young, I did really well at school so it's defaulted to "oh, she's fine! great!" but it all seems to be falling apart now. I asked a support worker at uni for help and he was confused and said I'd have been diagnosed by now if it was causing any problems, and he ended up joking about it. But it is causing problems, that's why I went to see him. That scares me if I go to my GP to ask for a referral. I'm pretty sure my GP thinks I'm overly anxious/hypochondriac anyway.