Awaiting assessment in 40's

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, 45 yo married female. I've had a pre-assessment and am just waiting on the final appointment.  Apologies for the essay!  I joined the forum as it will be nice to read things by other people who 'get' me, and where we're known as the normal ones! Lol!  I'm an only child who has always felt like I'm pretending, my mum and dad (who never considered ASD back then) coached me through life to behave and react properly and politely and to do all the nice thoughtful things a person should do. So I learnt to act and speak about things I should and basically became so good at masking that I didn't even know that's what it was. I just figured everyone was the same. I got diagnosed with GAD in my teens and had bouts of depression through the years, so I've been treated for those (with SSRI's), and even hormone imbalance when I was about 16, when I was describing that I felt like I was caged inside myself trying to get out. At no point did anyone suggest it could be anything else. 

Fast forward to my 20's where I was introduced to someone who became a good friend. She eventually worked in the MH profession and somehow I could be more 'honest' in my behaviour with her. She at one point in later years joked that I reminded her sometimes of one of her autistic clients.