Hi

Hi, I'm Rai. I am currently waiting for an assessment via Right to Choose with Psychiatry UK - referral was confirmed by my GP on 3rd February. I'm 42 and transgender ftm. I'm studying a BA in Education Studies with TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) and planning a MA by Thesis related to translanguaging afterwards. 

I am going through a lot of change and 'new' at the moment and really struggling so I thought I should look for some peer support.

I enjoy learning about languages and I am currently studying Mandarin, Klingon, Swahili and Hungarian - I like learning how languages work rather than how to speak them. I am also a bit of a Dr Who fan. 

I would love to have some people to talk to who share my interests. 

Not sure what else to say.

Parents
  • Hi Rai, I'm Alice.

I teach ESL and am also a big fan of languages. I'm not great at speaking them, but I've collected the basics of about 13 (and by basic, I mean basic lol). I enjoy learning the different ways people express themselves and how that changes depending on the language and culture. I guess this might be an extension of my general interest in people and how they interact, something I'm beginning to think I will never understand.

If you ever want to talk about anything, I'm always here to listen and offer my (sometimes questionable and always optional) advice Grinning

• Hi Alice!

Yes I can relate. I think that's why I like languages too. I love watching people, but some recent dating experiences have taught me that I still don't get people and possibly never will.

I find languages are a window into how people live and how they see the world. I know the Sapier- Worf hypothesis is controversial but I thought no it has something going for it. 

Have you read Through the language glass?

• I have not. Would you recommend it?