Struggles with loneliness

Hello. I'm new here.

I am a high school student with suspected autism (my local mental health service suggested to my parents that I should have an assessment). 

I've had issues with social communication for a long time and I feel I have become more withdrawn since I started my high school a few years ago.

At my last school I had one best friend, we were inseparable for 4 years, and I also developed a close group of friends who I got on well with.

I've tried hard to make friends at my new school for a few years but nothing has 'clicked' like with my best friend.

Now I'm quite lonely and I get really sad about simple things that I did with my friend like waiting in the line for the canteen, playing music together etc.

Since I left the school, I have kept in contact with my friend but it's not the same.

Also I saw my friend at a sports event, laughing with a new friend. This made me feel really sad inside because that person with my friend used to be me, and I was just sat on my own on the opposite side. 

I now just accept that I probably won't share these kinds of moments again with anyone. It also doesn't help because my sibling has a best friend too, I feel so jealous and sad that they can make friends so easily.

I then started feeling like I'd done something wrong, maybe my friend didn't like me (because I think was a bit bossy sometimes when I was at school with them).

I feel like people judge me for being alone as well. I sometimes get comments like 'that kid' which make me feel like I'm not in the room.

Sorry about this, but I just needed to get this out of my head.

Thank you.

• Hi,