Fear of medication

Does anyone else on here freak out if they are prescribed medication by a doctor? I’ve had a couple of bad experiences in the past with side effects from medication and Now I almost have a phobia about any medication and possible side effects. Does anyone else have this? 

Parents
  • Yes I am very suspicious of any medication and don't like to take anything unless absolutely necessary. I am particularly reluctant with any medication that impacts brain function. My doctors have repeatedly tried to prescribe me antidepressants but I have always refused. I am a scientist so I will sometimes even go off and read the papers and studies/ clinical trials on the medication and I always find a 'rational reason' of why I don't want to / shouldn't take it but I know that that is just a rationalisation for something that deep down I do not want to do (because of course there is also often a lot of evidence that the medication could be effective). In case of antidepressants or anti-anxiety medication, I have realised that the thought patterns that cause me problems are also those that make me good at what I love and make me who I am. I think this is one of the reasons I am so hesitant. 

I am also in general careful with medication as I suffer from a lot of digestive issues anyways and therefore am even more hesitant to take anything... 

I like to read the information leaflet of all medication as well (as well as researching it)- I like to be informed. But I am very aware that it usually sounds bad on paper- have you ever read the leaflet for paracetamol or ibuprofen? I wouldn't take those unless absolutely necessary but I do feel that those are accepted by most people to be relatively ok- so I found it quite nice for comparison to read those leaflets too. I like as much info as possible but maybe you might prefer to not read the leaflets at all to limit anxiety?