Newly diagnosed adult with aspergers

Hello. As briefly explained, I am an adult woman and I have recently been diagnosed with high functioning autism commonly known as Asperger Syndrome. This is all still a bit new to me, I'm not sure how I'm supposed to react so I've been taking it steadily the past few days until my appointment with the psychiatrist to discuss this further. I have a good relationship with my care coordinator and I really wish I get to speak with her first before the psychiatrist but our scheduled appointment is next week. The psychiatrist is calling tomorrow afternoon so I'm sure I'll be okay. I just have a better working relationship with my CC because I've been speaking with her for several months now. 

Okay, so I don't want to get bogged down too much in details right now because I'm not sure on them myself. It was recommended to me in my diagnosis letter that I join NAS and, well, here I am. So a few basics to introduce myself and get a better idea of what to put in my profile description.

• As you may have already figured, I have a thing for words. I've been told by friends that reading letters from me is just like me being there in the room with them. I don't know if that's a compliment or not. I often use words as a defensive mechanism (or maybe I'm masking?) particularly during official correspondence. I find it helps to be technical, maybe even mechanical when dealing with councils, schools, DWP, various other organisations and such that I need to communicate with otherwise I freak out or space out while talking on the phone.