4 year old autistic boy - stem cell therapy

Hi,

Anyone you know who did stem cell therapy for their child. Please let me know if it worth using this therapy.

regards

mom

• You're welcome. Sadly yes, there are many 'clinics' offering this and other unproven and potentially harmful 'treatments' for autism, preying on parent's vulnerability and desperation. The WHO can do little except offer guidance, they are not an enforcement agency, and if these practices are tolerated legally by the countries they are based in, there's little anyone can do. As a scientist, I always say that if e.g. homeopathy could cure cancer, or AIDS, or bleach drops or 'stem cells' address the most disabling levels of autism (as there are some positives to being non-neutypical, of course), it would be the most wonderful thing in the world, but until there's evidence from properly performed studies of the effectiveness, and most importantly the safety, of such treatments, it is unethical to allow children (and their parents) to suffer and waste their resources on them. 

Out of interest, most of these centres use bone-marrow derived stem cells from the patient, known as a self- or 'autologous' transplant, as this largely eliminates the risk of the patient's immune system attacking the injected cells. The extraction process is painful, a large-bore needle is inserted into the pelvic bone, generally, or femur. It is possible to 'reprogram' other cells to become stem cells, this has been achieved in laboratory experiments, but it's unlikely to be widely applicable. And any transplant of stem cells that were not developed from the patient's own tissue runs additional risks of 'rejection', where the patient's immune system reacts to and destroys the injected cells, or even worse 'graft vs host disease', where the foreign injected or transplanted cells actually start attacking the patient themselves.