Hi, I’m new to this, 4 year old son diagnosed with ASD

Hello all,

My son, youngest of 4 has just been diagnosed with Autism.  He also has possible ADHD which they will investigate when he is a little older. I’m struggling a bit with his behaviour at the moment, he has been very impulsive, hitting his brother, friends and teacher! His nursery have decided he can only go in for an hour a day and he is kept in a room with no other children. I’m trying everything to stop the hitting so he can return to his class, nothings working. Anyone been through or going through this?

Parents
  • Hi,  I have a 4 year old son with autism, and I am no expert in autism (and I know nothing about ADHD), but I know from my own experience that when they hit themselves or others it is because they are stressed. Walking into nursery with children playing and running around for an autist is like having the volume and picture turned up x10.  This becomes overwhelming, they cannot cope and they lash out because they cannot take the constant overbearing stimuli.  

The reaction of shouting or grabbing the autist only makes matters worse, and increases the stimuli increasing the autist's desperation to get out of the room.  And this comes to my next observation (and again I'm no expert) but  I think it is possible that putting them son in room on his own my well calm him down, but make matters worse as after such overstimulation your son may be glad of the solitude.  Hence it is possible you enter a cycle, if he lashes out, he will be rewarded with a quiet room on his own with the stimuli removed.