Coping with diagnosis

Hi

i recently had a formal diagnosis of autism (RAAD-R 189/240) having suspected for a while and having self assessed with the ASD-50 (37/50), Aspie Quiz: high functioning autism, and the Empathy Quotient (13). I'm a professional engineer running my own small business, although struggling to find sufficient work due to industrial down turn, and I have also recently re-married. Surprisingly enough, I don't know what to do with the diagnosis or what to think about it or how to cope with it. I know I'm not coping well with things in general and need help, but don't know what help or sort of help that I need or where to turn for it. I know that I can't be the only person to find myself in this position or feel like this, so I'm reaching out to hear and learn from other peoples experiences. So how did you cope and what did you do?

Thanks

Andy

Parents
  • Hi Andy, with regards to how to cope with the diagnosis, for me it was just an issue of time. I was upset the day I discovered I had autism, and it felt overwhelming whenever I thought about it for a good few months. I had to wait 18 months between my initial meeting and my formal assessment, and my feelings about autism got better slowly through that time. Even by the end of that 18 months I still felt anxious when I thought about it. Once I got my official diagnosis, I felt relieved and it's been much easier to accept since then - I was out of that horrible limbo of waiting. I don't know what your timeline is. I'm much more accepting of it now, so remember your feelings about it will change over time, you just need to get used to it.