Is it just me or does it take time to learn correct terminology when it comes to autism?

Hi, 

I recently got diagnosed at the age of 23. I am learning more about Autism and myself more and more. But I notice that I am struggling with the use of the correct terminology. I am learning but is it just me or have you experienced the same?

It made me realize how little I know, only after getting diagnosed I started learning about ASD.

Parents
  • I agree, and I feel like every term is an overgeneralisation.

I can appreciate why the terms high/low functioning are no longer used, however high/low support need feels like the same thing to me, just worded differently. I just personally feel that people miss out the word spectrum in ASD, and 2 definitive categories simply doesn't work for such a complex disorder where support needs can change based on the minute. 

Whilst I understand it is important to ensure that people who need more help, can receive it, I am cautious that labelling people as having "low support needs" will make people more reluctant to provide them with help when they do need it due to the pre-conceived idea that they need less help.

• I agree, and I feel like every term is an overgeneralisation.

I can appreciate why the terms high/low functioning are no longer used, however high/low support need feels like the same thing to me, just worded differently. I just personally feel that people miss out the word spectrum in ASD, and 2 definitive categories simply doesn't work for such a complex disorder where support needs can change based on the minute. 

Whilst I understand it is important to ensure that people who need more help, can receive it, I am cautious that labelling people as having "low support needs" will make people more reluctant to provide them with help when they do need it due to the pre-conceived idea that they need less help.

Children