I feel NHS failed me and other questions

am in my mid 50s, female and have very good reasons to believe I have high functioning Autism. Not only resonate all the posts here with me, but I have felt different my whole life, so much so that I studied Neuroscience at University. But never did it occur to me I might have Autism. That only came 6 years ago.

I wanted a diagnosis so I can at last 'fight the enemy'. Just for me as I have been clueless my whole life and thought I was merely 'really weird and bonkers'. 

I always suffered from Anxiety, my whole life, was always 'weird' [but likeable - I was told]. I have routines I don't break and in short I fit absolutely EVERY single criteria the NHS has to diagnose Autism.

Not only that, but I did a RITMO autism test and it came back as 'strongly autistic'.

Husband has read symptoms and agrees I have all of them, which can make life sometimes difficult. Anyway, I went on a waiting list and was seen after 5 frigging years, only to have 2 video sessions and one in person. 

I was diagnosed as: Eccentric and stereotypical German [I am German, living in the UK for over 30 years], but not autistic. He based this on eye contact [which I learned at my first job as a hairdresser and have adopted as a 'safe' thing to do, despite hating it. He also said I have the right intonations when I speak and lastly they called my friend I have since childhood, spoke to her on the spot and asked if I had a toy I was preferring and she said no, because my favourite 'thing' I have forever been obsessed with is Ghosts as a kid, horror as a teen and the esoteric and occult and horror as an adult, so it was missed. The German doctor like most Germans did not see eye to eye with Autism and it is really ahrd to have any mental illness diagnosed. 

So they closed the book on me.