Stomach trouble

As an artist I also have many artist friends, many of whom I suspect would fit the diagnostic criteria for ASC.

The majority of those same people experience anxiety & stomach issues (IBS, IBD, etc).

So, this thread asks: Do any of you not get stomach issues every day/week?

...because I suspect this might be an interesting commonality between us all on the spectrum?

Could the difficulties we have to navigate day to day be interrupting our 'gut-brain-axis' and so be an easy to spot sign of an autistic person?

Sounds random now I write it, but I'm curious

Parents
  • Wow, thanks for the response everyone, I think this has confirmed my theory!!

So, let me share with you my progress in the hope that it helps somebody here.

I've had IBD since 2012, and spent over 10 years trying everything with the help of my partner who is a food expert in industry (I got lucky there).

I've tried FODMAP, Low Fibre, BRAPS, Keto, Paleo, Gluten Free, Vegan,.... I've tried it all based on the latest research available today, and it has led me to...

...the ZOE study (yes, same company who do the Covid study). It is run by Dr Tim Spectre (wrote the Diet Myth) etc. He ran the biggest study of identical twins ever, over 15,000, where he found that the same food reacted differently for two identical twins.

Drum roll, this is because of the profile of their microbiome in their intestines. It's different in each of us. So this means we react differently to foods based on this microbial environment.

Long story short, the programme has a waiting list, but is worth the wait. It's totally revolutionised my diet and my energy is through the roof.

This week I reintroduce gluten in the form of food quality bread. And I'm fine Raised hands

So, what the food industry doesn't want us to know is, it's the quality of food that is the major issue. The amount of ingredients in a loaf of GF bread for example, it's full of rubbish!!