Website building

So I am really wanting to make a go of this working from home thing as a writer, I think it's all I can cope with during my burnout. Realistically, I dont see myself going into a school or office full of people for a while. 

I want to make a website as like a blog type thing for my sports writing. I have tried to do this before, I went to wordpress, bought a domain name and went through their process to build my site but it looked rubbish, couldnt even work out how to set the menus or change the colours, let alone how to get it to appear on peoples google searches so no one ever saw it. Ive tried several times and wasted money on it but cant seem to figure it out. Im not hopeless with techy stuff but im certainly not the best.

Does anyone have any hints or tips or places I could go for advice? Would be really apprecaited 

• I use Squarespace for my photography website, its relatively straight forward as they have many templates to suit everyone's needs. I think they also do blog layouts etc, check them out.

Squarespace

• Don’t get a website they cost a lot I’ve had two websites I shut both down due to how much they cost plus SEO tweet Facebook it’s cheaper and seo etc is done for you. You could get a blog get a web designer to run it for you then send over what you want would be cheaper and easier just a thought 

• I think my first concern is that a lot of people are using Facebook now, and in some countries, it's largely supplanting custom Web sites. Then the other thing I run into, is that I enjoy solving really unique and detailed problems to keep my mind engaged, but Web development could become very cut-and-paste production-line-like, and you may even be stuck doing it that way in order to be competitive. I'd like to hear how it goes. It might just be kind of visceral apprehension, because I suppose you could make a bunch of standard templates and become really fast at it without too much boredom.