Trying to understand how autism affects me

TL;DR - I was diagnosed early but was never given a full understanding of my autism. Now struggling a lot as an adult trying to live independently and need to understand myself better in order to move on, but don’t know where to start. Help??

————-
Hi all, newbie here!

So I was diagnosed with autism as a child - started assessments as a toddler but didn’t receive a final diagnosis until I was 9/10 years old. I only went to mainstream schools, with a statement during primary and secondary that was then dramatically reduced during college (which was a huuuuuge mistake but that’s a discussion for another day).

Because I did receive a lot of support early on and because I’m on the “low support needs” end of the spectrum, I never really thought much about my autism before. I lived my whole life being told the dreaded “you don’t seem autistic” comment, but young naive me saw that as a good thing at the time because that meant people thought I was somewhat “normal” despite having a diagnosis that didn’t really bother me.

Fast forward to being an adult, and things are completely different. I completely crashed and burned during college, jumped between dead-end jobs before landing a kitchen role which I’ve been in for 3 years. I thought being a chef would end up being my career, but slowly realised that the environment is completely wrong (sensory overload, lack of routine).

Combine that with the pandemic and having moved out of my parents home into my partner’s flat last year, I’ve suddenly come to the realisation that my autism really does affect me, I just don’t fully know how because it was masked so heavily during my school years.