Struggling to cope

Hi,

I'm new here.

I was just wondering if anyone else has struggled with finding support after receiving their diagnosis as an adult? And if anyone has any helpful suggestions about seeking support or how to cope better?

The reason I was assessed and received a diagnosis is because I have a long history of struggling to cope. I used to think I had severe anxiety but I now realise that some of what I feel is anxiety and some of it is that I feel overwhelmed. This realisation is thanks to me now knowing I'm autistic and being able to research and understand myself better but I'm still finding it very hard to cope.

I was referred to see an NHS psychologist 18 months ago and 1 year ago I was told I'd be seen in 4 to 6 months. I appreciate the NHS are very busy but I'm still waiting and it's so difficult. I'm anxious about the uncertainty of these sessions (I've had some unfortunate past experiences where I've been misunderstood) but I'm also really aware that I've not been coping for a really long time and I need some help to learn to cope better and to understand my feelings better.

Due to the long wait, I was referred to a local charity that offer support but I'm also very anxious about that as new situations are very difficult for me and I have now been waiting 2 months since I first contacted them. I was offered an appointment with them but they didn't propose a date... They just said would I like an appointment... I replied saying I would but it's now been weeks since that email... Is this standard? How long is reasonable to wait for a reply? I worry I come across wrong with my need for specifics and my anxiety around waiting for the unknown, I've been called impatient before but it's not that I can't wait and I don't have a bad attitude while waiting (I'm actually very polite and apologetic), it's just incredibly uncomfortable anticipating what will happen while I wait because of the uncertainty of a new situation.