Women (and men) diagnosed with ASD in later life - advice please!

Hi. I am new to the forum. I am 33 years old and think that I might have Aspergers. I have been researching for almost two years through books, youtube, online reports, blogs, vlogs, forums, radio, TV. I feel it fits. It describes who I am. I am not here to go into why I think I have it but to see if there are any women who have had similar experiences to me but have been diagnosed with ASD.

I have always felt different or out of step as a child, growing up, as an adult. I have looked into various things over the years - bipolar, schizophrenia, introversion, only-child(ness), defective parenting on my mum & dad's part, autism, aspergers. I rejected all of these. A friend said in passing (not directing anything at me) that "aspergers in women is presented differently than in men. Women mask their symptoms". When I had read about autism and aspergers on the internet,  this was all male-orientated and I couldn't relate to it. So I started to read about aspergers in women.

I approached my partner about it after a few months of reading. He said there's a possibility but is of the mind-set that "well you are who you are so it doesn't matter". It matters to me. I feel I have been searching all my life to find out who I am. This is like a piece of a puzzle which I never even knew existed. Now I've found it, it's like a whole different picture.