Adult ASD and occ health

Hi,

I had been to a private psychiatrist who said he thinks I have aspergers.  He then wrote to my gp to recommend I be referred to the diagnostic team.

In the meantime I had mentioned this in my review at work as part of the well-being part.  Since this I have regretted it.  They have brought it up at every review.  At present I have been working in my job role for 5 years and recently changed post.  So I have managed to get this far.  

Now they want to refer me to occ health to see how they can help, but I have already stated that I am enjoying my new post and am finding no issues.  I have possibly jumped he gun in telling them.  I don’t know what to do now for the referral to me seems pointless.  Is this referral a necessary step they have to take when I have told them I’m not having any difficulty?  I just feel vulnerable and put in the spotlight.  

Parents
  • Occ Health jsn't as terrible as it sounds. Isn't necessarily useful either. I had some mental health issues leading up to my Autism discovery, my appointment resulted in me getting two weeks off to take a break (which for me was necessary - doesn't mean you would need nor be required to take it), she told me she couldn't do anything about how my managers conducted themselves (which was the issue) but she was able to advise that I was fit to do my normal duties which had been denied to me.

Kind of a partial win for me as it got my managers to back off a little.

The thing that has helped me, is a Wellness Action Plan. You may be able to find it on your Companies' intranet. It's effectively a document with a series of questions that explain what affects your mental health, what improves it, what might trigger an issue, how it manifests and what to do about it if it occurs. It's not just for Autism. It can be used for anyone.