Miswired Women of the Net!

An informal thread for all misfired and miswired women on the spectrum...,(and guests). A new thread as we can chat away but are not so good tidying up after ourselves....too busy being awesome..,,

This is a new iteration of many long and warm and welcoming contributions. This is a happy and supportive place x 

Parents
  • Hi everyone

I've been dipping into these forums for a few months now and haven't posted very much.  But I spotted this thread and thought what a good idea.

I realised my 'aspie-ness' a few years ago when someone was commenting to me about why they thought someone else may be 'on the spectrum'.  They gave a list of things as to why they thought that and my response was "doesn't everyone do that then?".  After talking with them a bit more (they are a health professional) they gave me a few pointers to look into it further.  The recommended aspie tests I found on the internet all very clearly pointed towards me being aspie.  Similarly the more I found out about it the more I identified in myself.  I decided not to seek a formal diagnosis as I figured I'd got to that point in life.  I could look back across my life and so many things slotted into place it was a massive light bulb moment.

However, I started thinking about it again a few months ago.  I realised I hadn't really changed anything and was still hiding behind my 'mask of acceptability'.  So I looked into it all again and pondered seeking a formal diagnosis.  After looking at other people's experiences of getting an aspie diagnosis (seems to be 18 months to 2 years is the norm) I again decided not to go down that route.  I don't really want to spend lots of time in the company of the medical profession if I can help it (they are lovely people generally but I'd rather be walking my dog on a mild autumn morning than sitting in a consultant's waiting room).