Struggles with sleeping for children with autism

Hi my name is Antonella, I am a product design student currently in year 13 doing my A levels. 

I am currently working on a design project to help support families with children on the ASD spectrum specifically relating to their night time routines, such as being able to settle down to  sleep independently and thereby the whole family can benefit from a product that can improve this routine. This is a project that is very personal to me and my home life as I have a younger sibling who has long been diagnosed with autism. I would really appreciate it if you could take the time out of your day to answer a few of my questions so that I can gather as much information to inform my decision on what I may want to develop throughout my project.  

I would really appreciate if you could comment on what helps your child sleep or what problems you think your child tackles that causes them to not sleep. 

Any feedback; support and help would be greatly appreciated.

• Hi

My daughter was diagnosed age 4 with ASD, SPD and anxiety.  Most often it is at bedtime that her anxieties come to forefront of her mind and prevent her from getting to, or staying asleep.  Late  nights or her being over tired make the situation far worse and cause nightmares on top.

We have a strict (as in, has to be the same every night) bed time routine, she uses a weighted toy across her (could not get on with weighted blanket), we use magnesium flakes in the bath and vettiver oils to help clam/relax her.  Our main thing is the worry monster teddy who sits at the end of the bed.  Anything she has on her mind preventing her from sleeping gets written down and 'fed' to the monster to worry about.  It is a concept we worked hard at introducing, despite being skeptical ourselves and thankfully she has really bought into it and trusts that it will work - and so it does.

we have not yet found a cure for when she wakes with aching legs though!