Loneliness

Hi im an autistic 19 year old, I just started back at university after a summer of having no one to talk to and I was determined to make friends this year but so far have had no luck. I try everything i smile at everyone i see, be nice, go out with everybody etc. I just can't maintain an interesting conversation, i can do the general stuff like "how are you liking uni?", "nice weather" etc. I even go over topics with my mum beforehand but that still doesn't help. Does anyone have any ideas to help me chat/banter with other people? 

• Hi Donna. What are you studying? Does your subject give you opportunities to study/work/discuss with others on your course? Students tend to like a good listener.  Also, do you manage to go for coffee breaks together? Again many students like to talk, so you don’t need to feel pressured into contributing. I found one to one interactions best. I’m not good with crowds myself. I studied music as a very mature student, so was included in music making activities naturally. Perhaps your subject has possibilities? 

• I really feel for you and know exactly where you are coming from, I am 37 and still find it difficult to make friends. One thing I will say, always be yourself and people will like you for who you are. Have you tried the local Churches, you doubt have to be religious to get a sense of community there. 

Plus on face book there are usually spotted in ***** e.g spotted in leicester.  If you find one send them a message to say you are looking for social groups and they will put a post on their page, usually get some good responses for them., j used mu local one to find a support group for anxiety. 

Good luck xx

• Start your own society.  

If you drink, then try starting a homebrew society (generally quite a popular club in most universities).  Even in halls it should be relatively simple to get a couple of bottles of wine brewing or a small barrel of beer.