Hi

Hey folks,

I'm Riley, formally diagnosed early last year aged 37 and only now starting to think about who l really am after all these years of masking. 

I had suspected autism for a few years, but it's only now looking back on my life that I realise just how obvious it all was. I stim, I have shutdowns. I was "gifted" and adults would always tell me how smart and grown up I was. I struggled with depression and social isolation and i thought the answer was to study. I take things quite literally, I studied body language using library books as a child lol.

I've found most online spaces are full of people much younger than me and while its lovely to meet new people just starting out their adult lives, I really want to find friends who are at my life stage and figuring out who they are while trying to decide if they want to disclose professionally, whether to tell friends and family etc.

I'd love to hear your late diagnosis stories and how you're doing now. 

• Riley, the first book I read was 'An Adult with an Autism Diagnosis' by Gillan Drew. A perfect book for a beginner, it led me to seek an assessment;  I am indebted to the author.   It is an autobiography of difficulties with life, relationships, family, house-sharing, studying at uni etc.  I found parallels in so many of the pages that I just knew I was following the right path.

I then moved on to Temple Grandin's 'The Autistic Brain', a much heavier read, followed by many titles you will find recommended in these threads. Pete Warmby's 'Untypical' was, for me, a bit of page-turner; an autobiography style account of an adult diagnosis, told with the help of humour. He is a teacher.

Have you read 'The Reason I Jump', by Naoki Higashida? It is described as 'One Boy's Voice from the Silence of Autism'.  An excellent work, he wrote it when just thirteen years old. I certainly recommend it.

Keep on reading...

Ben