Hello

I have just joined the community; I am 52 so very late to the party. I am not officially diagnosed but after seeing a counsellor recently for anxiety and chronic lifelong social anxiety I have come to realise that it is a distinct possibility I am on the spectrum.

I have spent my whole life hiding my anxiety and trying to function normally whilst always feeling different somehow but never able to figure out why. I hope that here I might be able to finally feel like I belong and rediscover my true self (I have been 'faking it' so long I am not sure I know who that is). From what I have read on here so far everyone seems very friendly and welcoming.

I work as a veterinary nurse, and have a lifelong love of animals, nature, and history. Another of my passions is Scotland - really everything about it! I also spend a lot of time reading. 

• Anyway, just thought I would say 'hi'
  • How are is everyone, it's good to hear others as it can be hard on the spectrum to I make friends. Is anyone from Newcastle upon Tyne area x I think it is good to see what people up to.  

• Its healthier to be your true self when you can, even if you have to mask at work or with family or out in public.

•  I got a bit confused as to who I was as I'm not that good with numbers overall. I'm more of a wordsmith. But I totally get the comfort thing. 

I've decided that as I've been hiding elements of myself for over 50 years in real life I would like to try something different on here amongst all you lovely people Blush 

• Being a number can be comforting to some here as its anonymous, and you don't have to stress over coming up with a name - you can just focus on saying what you want to say.  The numbers are too similar though so a name helps with familiarity, and getting to know people here.

• Just worked out the name change thing - seems a bit more friendly than having just a number